Letter to Supervisor Mike Wasserman re: Shelter in Place

Dear Supervisor Wasserman:

I am a voting resident of Santa Clara County Supervisory District 1.

As a county resident represented by you on the County Board of Supervisors, I would like to inform you of my concerns, shared by many of my fellow residents, about the County Department of Health’s extension of the Shelter In Place order until May 31.

State and County Health authorities have not justified the order on any grounds requiring a “state of emergency”. The fundamental justification for President Trump’s State of Emergency Executive Order signed on March13, 2020 was to protect the healthcare system from being overwhelmed and ceasing to function.

The state and county healthcare systems have not been overwhelmed, continue to function normally, and are fully capable of handling ALL local consequences of the coronavirus pandemic in the ordinary course of their day to day operations. There is no crisis that requires the extraordinary disruption of the lives of citizens that has been imposed by state and local emergency shelter in place orders.

As my elected representative to the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors, I request that you vigorously advocate for the immediate and complete termination of the state and county’s shelter in place orders and policies, and end their devastating personal, social, and economic consequences for our county.

I recognize that we are living in a climate of fear encouraged by partisan politics, or the desire to influence elections, or increase news media relevance, or create “clicks” and “likes” for social media internet sites, but the appropriate and necessary response to fear is leadership.

And this is a moment that demands strong and visionary leadership from elected public officials. The vision that is urgently needed at this moment is to confront the fear, oppose it, and reclaim a civic outlook that is based on science, knowledge, prudent judgement, and progress.